What’s Your Silly Voice?

Ever since I can remember, I have mimicked other people’s voices. I remember trying to sound like Darth Vader and Kermit the frog when I was four.

As I got older I discovered that beyond impressions, I could just manifest an original silly voice at will. And it’s one of my favorite things to do.

If you didn’t know me well, but heard my side of a conversation with a close friend when I’m feeling very safe, you might think I have a mental disorder. I rarely jump in and out of voices around strangers or people I don’t know well, because I know it can be annoying.

But usually, it’s an indicator that I feel safe, content and joyous.

So, it donned on me today, what if that works in reverse?

In other words, if I’m not feeling super joyful, energetic, calm, safe, etc. what if I slip into random silly voices and see if it alters my mood toward those adjectives that I prefer so much?

Guess what? It kinda does.

I got home late. Hadn’t eaten all day. First thing I did was put away the groceries. Then I walked the dog. Then I filled his water and food. Hadn’t eaten in hours. Just wanted to put food in my mouth. But I had a number of emails I needed to return and I know myself well enough to know that I cannot enjoy even the finest of meals that late at night if I know I have impending crap to do before I go to bed.

So, I said, “Let’s answer some emails” in a very silly Tigger-esque voice just as I sat down at my computer. And I’ll be damned. My mood shifted. I was still hungry and tired, but my energy level spiked, I sat up, I read and typed with a small, but noticeable spring in my metaphorical step.

I turn 36 in eleven days and I just realized that something I’ve done literally my whole life could be a key to helping me crack out of a temporary haze of depression or anxiety.

How freakin’ cool is that?!?!?

So, my question to you is, ‘what’s your silly voice?’ Do you have something, maybe something you do or used to do all the time, that could possibly boost your happiness instantly? Ask yourself, is there something you do when you’re around your favorite people doing an activity you love? Could be something as simple as how you do your hair, how you dress, something you say, etc.

What do you have that can be your equivalent of a happy shot? It’s worth taking the time to look for it.

Thanks, y’all!

One thought on “What’s Your Silly Voice?

  1. Learning something new is about the closest I get to happy shots. Falling down a Wikipedia rabbit hole when I have more pressing matters actually helps me feel better about who I am and what I do. For instance this: https://www.dailywritingtips.com/dawned-vs-donned/
    I never bothered to write out the expression before, now I have. Thanks for the distraction, back to work.

Leave a Reply

