I’m Very Torn (Re: How To Vote)

While it’s not 100% sure right now, it’s reasonable to assume that the 2016 election for president will happen between Hilary Clinton and Donald Trump. And I need insight from other people about what to do. Please read and help.

I won’t be voting for Trump. There’s no scenario where I will be doing that. No offense to those who are Trump supporters. I can’t judge you. You’re just making the choice you think is best. But I do respectfully disagree with your choice.

I might vote for Hilary. Here’s where I am very torn. I don’t know whether to help put her in the White House or not. She is not a terrible candidate by any stretch, but she’s not exactly what I want in a president.

Now, I understand that pretty much nobody gets a president who is exactly what they want. But my self controversy comes into play because there is a candidate who appeals to me more than Hilary.

His name is Gray Johnson. And if you haven’t heard of him, he’s on the Libertarian ticket. This former governor of New Mexico  seems to agree with me on a lot more than Hilary does. If you wanna hear a good long form interview with him I suggest the Rubin Report.

I’m not gonna get into the specifics as to why I prefer him to Hilary. If you’re interested, ask in the comments and I’ll happily tell you. But this post is about me asking for your opinion.

Should I vote for the candidate I genuinely believe would be a better president or do I vote for the person who has a realistic chance of beating the candidate I disagree with the most? And by the way, I want advice from anyone and everyone. I don’t want to limit myself to democrats or independents. My question is more universal:

If the candidate you preferred the most had no realistic chance of winning, but the candidate you kinda liked was the only one who could beat the candidate you fear the most, who would you vote for?

I really appreciate any opinions/insight anyone has, please.

Thanks, y’all!

6 thoughts on “I’m Very Torn (Re: How To Vote)

  1. I hear you loud and clear. Any vote NOT for the candidate you DON’t want would be a vote they do not receive. The purpose of voting IS to vote for the candidate you actually want. My advice would be to vote for Gray. Those votes are still tabulated and even if he does not win (and according to your assessment WILL NOT WIN), I think it is important that those votes be counted because it says something about the American people and their right to make those choice even in the face of potential risk. I wholeheartedly believe the is NO WAY that Trump could ever win. Thanks for sharing as I will seek out more information about Gray for my own voting decisioning process.

  2. Yes. If you don’t vote for what you want, how could you ever expect to get it? I am so not in agreement with the people who vote from fear of what they don’t want. I think a huge amount of Hillary supporters belong to this group. She’s made it clear so many times that she’s a corporatist war hawk, itching to bomb Iran to please Israel, ready for more “regime change,” etc. And yet good, moral people I know will vote for her simply be cause they fear Republicans. The Democrat party needs to know the cost of foisting this kind of candidate on us. Even if a Republican wins.

  3. In a perfect world, I’d vote for my favorite candidate. But this isn’t a perfect world.

    Trump as president is about the most terrifying thing I can think of. I don’t like Hilary. I hate the idea of political dynasties. But if I don’t vote for Hilary, that’s one less vote to beat Donald Trump, and we, as a country, can’t afford that.

Leave a Reply

