My Extra 25 lbs. & Me

I’ve struggled with weight for a long time. Not majorly. I don’t know how hard it is to be significantly overweight, but rather I’ve hovered around 25-35 pounds overweight most of my adult life. My belly comes and goes. It’s not the worst. I’m probably average or a little below average for my age. But this belly has stayed for a while. I’m fluctuating between 185 – 190, My heaviest is 205. I’d like to be 165. It’s realistic. Guys with my similar build and height weigh that. But I can’t seem to get there.

Is there a secret? Obviously there’s not a miracle cure. I’m not asking for a fat removal cream or a grapefruit diet. I’m realistic. I know what it takes. But I don’t know how to achieve that. I honestly believe the road to losing weight is hard work and determination. Eating better and exercising regularly, minimizing the alcohol, minimize the sugar, etc. I get that those decrees will get me lighter, but that doesn’t really help me much. I’ve known that for years. I was a personal fitness trainer for almost two years.I know the answers to the written portion of the test.

My struggle is that I don’t know how to make myself do those things I know to do. So, those things become goals themselves instead of tools. It’d be like if I had a problem and the only solution involves a jackhammer. Okay, cool. But I don’t know how to use a jackhammer. So, learning to use the jackhammer is now a goal I must accomplish along my way to accomplishing my other goal. Of course, I’d most likely use a work around and hire someone who both had a jackhammer and knew how to operate one. But I don’t have the money to do that. If I had the money to hire a dietician and a personal trainer, I would. That would be one of the first purchases I made if I somehow landed myself a boatload of cash. Most things are easier with money. I could be 165 if I made six figures.

So, my question is, how do I make myself do the things I know I need to do with a very small budget? Not miracle cures, but tricks and procedures.

If you wanna learn improv comedy, I can teach it to you. I’ve been teaching for eight years. I know how to break down that process into fun things to do that will teach people to be good improvisers. I know what exercises to make you do and how to make them fun to do and what to ask you about them afterwards. You will learn to be a good improviser if you let me show you.

Are there fun ways to lose and keep off excess weight? Other than hiring people to make sure you do everything correct, is there something we can learn ourselves? And if there is not, then what is self discipline? Can I get more of it? Can I strengthen it? Because right now it feels pretty impossible to get motivated to do anything, let alone eat better.

The overall point of this post is to illustrate the differences in providing tools vs. providing more tasks. If anyone out there has a tool you can give me to slim down, I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks, y’all!

One thought on “My Extra 25 lbs. & Me

  1. Man, Rich, you and I are in the same boat. My highest was 213 and my lowest in the last 15 years was 180. I am now hovering at around 195. I do really well in the morning. Protein shake (protein powder, 1 frozen banana, Chia seeds, 2 ice cubes and almond milk) and black coffee (gave up the lattes and that helped. I have “trained” myself like Pavlov’s dog in the morning.

    For lunch I try to exclusively eat salads. I have learned to try all kinds of lettuces and greens, fruits in the mix, and seeds, too. The more I try I start finding out what is very flavorful (a very important aspect to a healthy diet is actually LIKING what you are eating.)

    It’s the evenings and the weekends that do me in. And the alcohol, of course. I am now slowly approaching the “200” threshold after several events including an open bar wedding. DAMN! No self control in that situation … so something must give! What I am planning to employ, again, is this –

    (1) regular exercise each day – even if it means a 3 mile walk, raking the leaves or something active for at least 45 minutes – 1 hour. IN fact, I make it a practice to park a mile from my destination – which usually means I park for free and I have to walk to the venue and back – there is some caloric burning in that ritual!

    (2) Drink lots of water.
    (3) Say “no” to activities and events that will tempt you to eat and drink irresponsibly.
    (4) Bag up healthy snacks each week into zip locs and carry them with you – if you feel a sudden urge to eat, you will not be hitting up Krispy Creme, a vending machine or some other sugary BS along the way – believe me I have a sweet tooth. Eat some roasted chili lime pepitas. or some grapes. Prep these bags on Sunday night before the week starts and have enough to get you through. (this helps with portion control as well)

    Sometimes when I get hungry later in the evening (I try not to eat after 8:00 Pm and it is VERY HARD) I just drink some strong herbal tea or a couple more glasses of water and then go to bed. (Just like when I was a child and we ran out of food – just go to bed – when you are asleep you will forget you are hungry.)

    There is no easy fix – and you have to make conscious choices over and over again. I was once recruited to test group for a new blender/meal plan and they awarded prized each week for the most weight lost. I won every week for a month and lost 20 lbs! (8lbs are back after a year) but I had that incentive. Maybe you could create your own incentive structure/reward system to motivate you towards weekly and monthly goals. Eating LESS is a lot less costly, too! hope this helps! You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

